As a result of tourism and the increasing number of people traveling, there is an growing demand for more flights. What problem does this have on the environment ? What measures could be taken to solve the problem ?

Due to the developments in aircraft facilitating foreign traveling, more flights are needed to meet this growing demand. In my opinion, this phenomenon can lead to two main negative effects: the shortage of fuel and pollution. In this essay, I would like to suggest green technologies and imposing policies as two feasible solutions.

Firstly, the increase in the number of flights means that more fuels are consumed, as a result, it could cause a lack of energy inputs in certain industries. Furthermore, since the amount of fossil energy resources are limited, which can not meet with this sudden growing demand so that the cost of fuel is likely to rise to cope with it. This will impact the lives of many citizens, whose jobs depend on the price of fuels, such as drivers and delivery businesses. For instance, if the prices of fuel go up, drivers can not afford to fuel their car; small businesses would have to add extra-fees for the transportations, which reduces the profits. Secondly, air traveling is indeed responsible for most air pollutions. According to science articles, a plane generates the amount of exhausted gas more than that of five hundred cars. Besides, the airport’s vicinities are impacted by the noise of planes, it causes mental health problems for the local people.

To deal with these problems, green technologies come in as appropriate solutions. By investing in green energies, the government will have alternative resources to supply industries, including air transportation. The abundance of energy leads to drops in fuel prices, as a result, it improves the economy by facilitating the local good transportations. For instance, in Germany, scientists have invented electricity planes, hoping it will change this business and make it more affordable. Also, the authorities should consider limiting the number of flights allowed per day in airports, to reduce the pollution caused by planes. Also, there have to be specific time frames for each flight to avoid generating too much noise at certain times, so that people’s lives cannot be impacted. In some countries, only twelve flights are allowed to fly per day, being separated in certain times of day, to help reduce the negative impacts of airports on the environment.

In conclusion, increases in air transportation cause pollution and the shortages of fuel; however, this could be resolved just by green energies and imposing proper policies.