The rise of convenience food has helped people keep up with the speed of modern life.Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent years, people prefer to use food which is cooked fast than conventional meals in their daily life. This change has benefits such as saving time but it has also drawbacks namely negative impact on health. Therefore, I think that disadvantages outweigh of the advantages.

In my opinion, the most essential thing of life is health. However, most people choose conventional food due to the easy usage, which brings dangerous results in wellbeing and leads to obesity. Because this type of foods has harmful chemical ingredients to keep for long time, consumers are likely to deteriorate their digestion process and furthermore chance of illness related to internal organs has increased. For example, a recent study found that 75% of people who eat fast foods in USA have more possibility to get cancer of stomach. Thus, convenience foods contribute badly for physical condition.

Another drawback of convenient foods is cost which is higher than homemade. Even though this kind of meals spends less time, it requires pretty much money. Approximately an amount of money which can buy food during a week is spent on just two or three days’ convenience foods. For instance, frozen soup or prepared pizza is around 15- 20 thousand tugrugs but it is only dinner of one evening. In contrast, such money is affordable to buy food of three days. Hence, it has negative effect on finance.

In conclusion, despite that convenient foods allow people to save time and chance to not think about what food will be cooked or what ingredients should be collected, it has more disadvantages for health and economy of individuals.