With the rise in the popularity of the internet, newspapers will soon become the thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Today, more and more people use smart devices connecting internet to get information. People read news and articles on their smart phones or notebooks instead of buying newspapers everyday. In my opinion, newspapers will be soon replaced by digital information.

Reading on-line or reading things downloaded from internet has many benefits. On the one hand, it’s more environmentally friendly. Without such a large volume of newspapers, there is no need to cut down so many trees to produce papers and no need to waste ink to print. It is not to say that using smart devices costs nothing. But comparing with newspaper, smart devices can reuse again and again. On the other hand, using internet to receive knowledge and information seems to be more likely to get multiple perspectives. For instance, people can read comments or reports with different political stances on webs and social media platforms. Also, they can discuss with other readers or express their own opinions. However, I can quite understand those who support newspapers loyally. I think it was because emotional factors and established habits. Newspapers play an important role for a long time in many people’s life. It’s precious and irreplaceable, like an old friends, or like memories of yesterday. Besides, for some people, especially elders, they read newspaper for a whole life and it’s hard and painful for them to change their reading habits.

In conclusion, although it makes many people reluctant and sad, but I believe that in the near future newspapers will soon become a thing of the past.