Safety standards are important when people build homes. Who are responsible for this- the government or the people who build the homes?

Safety is the most desired thing in anyone’s life. Every activity we do, we make sure the safety for ourselves. More importantly, people consider their home as the safest place on this earth. For the reason being, I will be in accord with the statement that government should be the one to impose strict safety code for building people’s home rather than people who are making constructing the home. But some may contradict with the statement.

The responsibility implies on the people to ensure the safety code for their home. Bur three are some limitations regarding ensuring the safety because of corruption and lack of accountability. There are some developers who construct houses on contractual basis. Sometimes, they build the residence with lower quality materials. As a result, the sustainability of the building becomes uncertain. Furthermore, once they finish the work as per the contract and handover the house to the owner, they are no longer accountable to anyone for anything. Hence there is no scope for them to make amends for their mistake.

On the other hand, safety code should be enforced by government because of the international reputation and economic development. Government has a reputation to maintain in front of other countries and a country’s reputation also includes the matter of safety. For instance, the incident of Rana Plaza took place in Savar shook the status of Bangladesh to other countries. Thousands of people lost their life and a lot of people have lost their workability. Moreover, when an incident happens and there is a damage of people’s property, government have to pay compensation for the damage. If strict rules had been imposed by government, it would be possible to avoid this extra burden on the economy and use the amount for the betterment of other sector of the country.

In conclusion, I harmonize with the statement that government has a bigger role to play than individuals in setting the strict rules for safety.