For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence and social
development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
There are different views about whether parents or teachers weight more heavily on
children’s intellectual and interpersonal development. In my standpoint, I believe that
teachers play a vital role in nurturing pupils’ intelligence while parents may have more
influence on the social development of their children.
From the perspective of intellectual development for students, teachers are considered to
be an irreplaceable part of this process. This is due to the fact that they are professionally
trained to help pupils comprehend all complicated knowledge in a logical manner. In
order to be qualified educators, they had gone through a wide range of pedagogical and
psychological courses which brings about sufficient didactic skills to stimulate the
learning process of school children. For instance, although parents may give their
children the final answer to a difficult mathematic question, it is teacher who could
interpret students the appropriate thinking strategy that leads to the right answer.
Additionally, a large portion of brain development takes place at the formative of
adolescence and the fact that children enter school at such age emphasis on the strong
influence of teachers on children’s cognitive ability.
In terms of developing social skills for children, I believe that parents’ role is
indispensable. Apparently, at schools, as there is a limitation of time, teachers give
priority to teaching knowledge rather than soft skills establishment for students. Fathers
and mothers, however, spend more time with their kids; hence, they are able to give
children fundamental moral lessons. Furthermore, by virtue of natural affection between
parents and offspring, it is easier for parents to build up role models for kids to emulate
them and children can simultaneously open up to share their social relationship
experiences to their parents. As a result, parents could provide timely advice on kids’
behaviors and help them build strong sense of community.
In conclusion, while teachers may have greater role in facilitating children’s
comprehensive development, parental involvement can have more impacts on social
skills establishment.