For school children, their teachers have more influence on their intelligence
and social development than their parents. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
It is true that school children are at an impressionable age, and two strong influences on
their intelligence and social development are teachers and parents. While I accept that
teachers may have more influence on the intelligence of their pupils, I would argue that
parents probably exert a greater influence on the social development of their children.
In terms of encouraging the intellectual development and stimulating the intelligence of
school children, I believe that teachers play the major role. While not all teachers are
capable of inspiring their students, they are trained to impart their knowledge of their
subject areas in challenging and imaginative ways. For example, some students owe their lifelong love of a subject to dedicated teachers who taught this discipline in
secondary school. Of course, at home parents may also reinforce this passion by
encouraging study habits during the formative years of their children. Such support is
vital for academic achievement.
From the perspective of social development, I think that parents are mainly responsible
for guiding their children. Firstly, they spend far more time with their children than any
individual teacher is able to do. They can therefore monitor the activities of children
outside school hours, at weekends and during holidays. Secondly, parents are able to
provide role models in a whole range of situations. These might include showing respect
towards elders, choice of friends, or proper behaviour in public when eating out in
restaurants.
In conclusion, although teachers probably have a greater effect in stimulating the
intelligence of school children, parental influences on the development of children are
stronger in social situations.