Schools should concentrate on teaching students the academic subjects that will be useful for their future career. Subjects such as music and sports are not useful. To what extent do you agree of disagree?

Nowadays, some people are rather critical of the course curriculum adopted by most schools. They believe that schools should concentrate on teaching students academic subjects that will be useful for their future career, rather than those subjects such as music and sports which are not useful.

Academic subjects are useful for students’ future careers because they provide students with the knowledge they will need to pursue tertiary and vocational courses. Such courses offer students the opportunity to gain academic and professional qualifications which are often essential to finding good jobs.

However, if students are to achieve career-wise success in the future, they need a lot more than what they can learn from academic subjects. Obviously they will also need to have good health, an optimistic outlook on things, perseverance, the ability to cooperate with others and the courage to face competition. Subjects such as music and sports give them the perfect opportunity to learn and develop these essential qualities.

There is another way in which subjects such as music and sports may benefit a student’s future career. Generally speaking, no one could tell in advance what career path a student will follow in the future. Now that music-related and sports-related industries are among the most prosperous in the world, at least some students will find themselves eventually working in fields related to music or sports. Therefore, the music or sports lessons they had at school can help them with their jobs, even though they absolutely had no anticipation of this at school.

My conclusion is that while schools concentrate on teaching students academic subjects, they should also recognize the importance of subjects such as music and sports, and should definitely include such courses in the curriculum because they can be equally valuable for the students’ future career success.