Schools should not force children to learn a foreign language. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Some people think that foreign language should not be a compulsory subject in school. I completely disagree with this opinion.

On the one hand, learning a foreign language is very beneficial for students. There are three main reasons for this. First, most of the research papers, reference books, etc, are usually written in English, so knowing English will give students access to these materials, thus improving the learning efficiency. Second, students that want to study abroad obviously have to study the native language of the destination country. Finally, in this era, the era of globalization, foreign languages are necessary to be able to communicate with people from other countries. Being able to communicate with foreigners is a huge advantage. For example, assuming a company asks its employees to meet up with a foreign partner, then the employees that know foreign language definitely have a higher chance of being chosen as the company’s presentative, thus providing a potientially better career.

On the other hand, there is no reason not to teach foreign language at schools. Some people say students should just learn whatever they like, which is not true. Whether a student like a subject or not, mostly depent on the way the teachers teach them. If the lessons are stimulating, then the students will be able to study much more efficiently. Moreover, foreign language is pretty much a must-learn thing nowadays. As globalization is taking place, every single jobs now require the ability to speak foreign language. Even a farmer has to be able to do so. Take the farmers in Vietnam as an example, some of them used to create new machines to help with their works, all by themselves, which couldn’t have been done without the scientific materials written in foreign languages, as those written in Vietnamese are still very limited.

In conclusion, in this era, foreign language is necessary and it should be a compulsory subject in school.