Scientists agree that people are damaging their health by eating too much junk food. Some people think that the answer to this problem is to educate people. Others think education will not work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is believed that people are suffering from numerous health-related issues due to the excessive consumption of unhealthy food. Some people hold the thought that education is such an applicable solution while others have little faith in this scheme. In my view, education plays a vital role in reducing the over-consumption of junk food.

On the one hand, it is suspicious that the educational approach is not an effective measure because of the following reasons. To begin with, nobody can deny that junk food has its own valuable characteristics. For instance, hamburgers or pizzas are considered the best choices for their addictive tastes and convenience while it seems to be time-consuming to prepare for a proper nutritious meal. In addition, some people who experience financial difficulties find it challenging to pay for a three-course meal. Therefore, they eat processed food on a daily basis to diminish their expenditure despite being aware of its potential consequences.

On the other hand, educating people and raising their awareness towards the hazard of unwholesome food are believed to yield some auspicious outcomes. Firstly, general education programs can provide people with adequate knowledge of nutrition and food safety. As a result, people would have the competence to distinguish between domestic commodities and junk food which contains a large number of detrimental substances. Secondly, knowledge of health-related issues seems beneficial to encourage healthy habits. People would have a nourishing diet if they have opportunities to take part in some extracurricular activities like cooking with healthy ingredients.

In conclusion, there are multitudinous opinions about whether education actions could help to tackle this phenomenon. In my opinion, I do believe that education can be a worthwhile measure with careful consideration.