Scientists agree that people are damaging their health by eating too much junk food. Some people think that the answer to this problem is to educate people. Others think education will not work. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent times, overeating processed food is undermining people’s health. It is often said that the situation should be dealt with by raising consumers’ awareness through education, while others argue that it is improbable. In my perspective, I agree that educating is ineffective and will discuss both points in this essay.

On the one hand, educating people can partly solve the issue. Exposing adverse effects of junk food on their health helps them to realize its harm and acquire adequate knowledge of nourishing food. For example, when consumers are provided with information about food-related illnesses resulting from unhealthy food such as overweight, heart disease and high blood pressure, they may stop using it. Additionally, the educational approach is simpler than other ones. Governments do not need to take different solutions into consideration, such as regulating the food industry or using zoning laws to change local food environments which may be complicated and objected by the public to alleviate the situation.

On the other hand, I am convinced that people are more unlikely to refrain from using fast food by being educated. Firstly, junk food generally has eye-catching appearance and tastiness that immediately fascinate consumers. It is scientifically proven that sugar in processed food offers the hallmarks of addiction, for instance, withdrawal and craving, so just by educating, it is insurmountable. Secondly, junk food offers much greater convenience compared to home-cooked meals. Due to the increasingly rapid pace of life,

consumers usually opt to buy fast food rather than making food themselves, though they may be aware of destructive impacts of processed food to their health.

To recapitulate, educating is not a conceivable way to address the problem. Governments should tackle the issue by alternative actions