Scientists have reported that junk foods are detrimental to health. Some people believe that education is the answer to this problem, but others disagree.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most people from each society lately tend to eat out and the popularity of so called convenient food has become like an epidemic worldwide. As a result, health problems, ranging from simple indigestion to serious ones like diabetes, hypertension and obesity have been on the rise. To reverse such worsening trends, some activists are calling for publicizing sensible eating habits and balanced diets.

Of course, it is crucial that the administrations, health experts and dietitians take active role in advising citizens of the much-needed information of what a healthy diet includes. Obviously, this should start at schools, where young children can be made aware of the dangers of fast food and carbonated drinks. What is more, the adults should also be trained in making a conscious effort of choosing what they intake and how to prepare nutritious meals. This is especially vital for parents and potential parents who dictate what the whole family should eat. Consequently, in the long run, health education will make a huge difference.

On the other hand, I am not convinced that our physical and mental health can completely be secured by recognizing what and how we should eat only. What if highly educated and perfectly informed individuals couldn’t resist the temptation of oily French fries, juicy hamburgers and sugar packed Coca-Cola? Then, the other ways to combat the junk food in questions require measures, such as imposing age-limits on fast-food consumption, taxing the fast-food outlets and raising the health insurance for over-weight fast-food addicts. Only then will the obsession of processed food be effectively discouraged or halted.