In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels health and fitness is decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Lately, it has been confirmed that obesity has become a worldwide phenomenon, not to mention the devastating health problems, inextricably linked with such weight gains. Obviously, there exist numerous culprits, triggering alarming cholesterol, sugar and fat in the bodies of global citizens.

The 21st century hectic lifestyles have ruled out healthy diets and home-made meals, thanks to endless rat-races and modern men and women, occupied 24/7. Even children have to allocate their precious time amongst school, private tuition and extracurricular activities. That is where these so called convenient foods and carbonated drinks come in, thereby fattening consumers.

To make matters worse, sedentary lifestyles can also be held accountable for such worsening trends. People would simply drive even to short distances and exploit escalators or elevators for high-rising venues. Worst of all, field sports and outdoor activities have virtually been replaced by television and online games, consequently creating coach potatoes.

To combat these problems, a number of attempts should be made. First of all, people should be made aware of the possible dangers of their unhealthy food intake and irresponsible lifestyle. What is more, sensible eating habits should be widely publicized. In addition to this, healthier transportation modes, such as walking and biking should be encouraged.

In the same way, schools and workplaces should facilitate their members with well-equipped gyms or fitness centres. On the other hand, fast-food outlets should be required to keep their menus nutritious. Last but not least, over-weight individuals, more likely to waste health budget, should be charged with higher health insurance fees. Only then can the worsening crises be halted.