Several languages are in danger of extinction because they are spoken by very small number of people. Some people say that governments should spend public money in saving these languages, while others believe that would be a waste of money. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is a number of minority languages may be disappeared in the near future. Regarding the expenditure of state budget on circulating these languages, although some people state that it would be a waste of money, I believe that it is necessary to protect and preserve these languages.

There are several reasons why saving minority languages could be seen as a waste of money. Firstly, the actual fees and costs to promote such languages are probably high due to investment in coursebook, payroll and other facilities, while there are not many people interested in studying and mastering these languages. Moreover, it is thought that they are not used as a mean of communication in commerce, trading, or foreign investment that render the country financial benefits. Therefore, those who opposes the idea of allocating the state money to these languages hold view that the generalization of the languages does not contribute to economic development of the country.

Despite the above arguments, I believe that governments should try to preserve languages that are less widely spoken because this action acts as a precursor for the preservation of cultural identity. Actually, languages are used to compose pieces of traditional music such as Bai Choi (a northern Vietnamese traditional type of singing) or Truyen Kieu, a prominent poem, has been translated into more than 30 languages, originally composed in ancient Vietnamese characters have not been spoken nowadays namely Han Ngu. Thus, protecting these special language drives the preservation of cultural identity.

In conclusion, I gravitate towards an opinion of that there is no a waste of money if the competent authority invests in minority languages preservation.