Should children do household chores?

Whether children should help around the house or not is one of the most hotly debated issues nowadays. Opinions on the subject are equallu divided. However, I firmly believe that children should be asked to do household chores as soon as they are able to do so.

The first important reason as far as I'm concerned is that getting children involved in doing domestic duties can teach them a massive set of life skills that will benefit their independent life in the future forever. The one thing that we all need to learn is how to run a home. After all, we all have to live somewhere. We, therefore, need to understand how to clean, how to cook, how to shop, how to budget,... For this reason, in our future, things will be much easier. We can prepare for the later life only by doing suitable household chores.

The second reason is that asking children to help with housework can teach them a sense of responsibility. In a family, every member has to do their own job. For example, father and brother are in charge of fixing things while mother usually does the shopping and cooks. Therefore, children should give a hand to express that they are responsible and independent of parents. Children can divide free time into two parts. They should spend only 30% of the free time on entertainment and the rest is for doing domestic duties. They can manage both studies and household chores easily. This teaches them how to become a qualified people and know their responsibilities in family and society.

Others who do not agree point out the potential danger involved in some household tasks. This cannot be denied but we have to remember that most task assignment is appropriate with parents taking into considerations children's age, experience and current skill level. Also, parential guidance is available if children need help. Some others do not approve of this arrangement say doing housework takes up a lot of time of children. However, children can control their spare time reasonably. They know how to make a distribution of time spent on their homework, entertainment and domestic duties. Therefore, time doesn't have an effect on children's responsibilities for doing housework.

In conclusion, it is really very essential for children to do household chores. This will certainly bring many benefits to them in many ways. Parents should also consider clearly ability and age of their children to make an appropriate task assignment.