should a city try to preserve its old building or destroy them and replace them with modern building? use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Historical buildings and monuments are the connections between our present and past. So, they are important in individual's life. However, it is a irrevocable debate that, should the traditional buildings need to be saved or not? I totally agree with the fact that, historic architecture must be preserved. In this essay, I will give examples and assertions to support my view point.

Firstly, every ancient construction which is made have some history behind it. Hence, there are sentiments of people which are attached to them. A perfect epitome of this is, "Jallianwala Bagh" in Amritsar. It is constructed in the memory of freedom fighters, who sacrifice their lives for country freedom. Moreover, it reminds the people how hard it was for them to fight against constitution, which gives a sense of respect in the hearts of people for them.

Furthermore, the second most important role of historical buildings is in the field of art and literature. The ancient buildings have beautiful work on the walls, which is hard to find in modern buildings. A good example of this is, "Ajanta and Ellora Caves", a number of masterpieces of art are there, from which one can take inspiration for modern art. Apart from this, historical buildings have literature and quotes written on their walls which is also very important. This can be seen in "Golden Temple" located in Amritsar. Also, historical buildings connects us with our cultural and moral values.

Hence, it can be said that, historical buildings must not be destroyed and breplaced by modern architecture; rather than this, they can be renovated to maintain their natural beauty as well as to preserve the historical background.