Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings?

It is believed that Historic buildings aren't useful and occupy a large space that can be exploited in a better way. They can be demolished and rebuild contemporary buildings and commercial complexes instead. On the other hand, some individuals think that these buildings are the tie with the past. For several reasons I will mention below, I agree with the people who want to preserve the historic buildings.

Firstly, conserving the historic buildings is a good mean of passing down the heritage and legacy of our ancestor's to the new generations. All these monuments portray a big picture about the nature of the life in the past, help us to know the lifestyle evolution. For example, the three pyramids in Egypt are one of the Seven Wonders of the World. Although they were built before Christ (B.C.), they still very impressive for all people even the scientists today still wondering how they were built. The future generations will be proud of their ancient Egyptian scholars.

Secondly, the tourism industry in some countries contributes a significant portion of the national income. This industry depends mainly on the historical buildings. Most tourists have a passion for knowing the history and the cultures of the other countries so this achieved only by preserving such monuments. The high influx of tourists increases the revenue which can be exploited by governments to improve the infrastructure of the country. For instance, the revenue generated from the tourism in Egypt accounts for the second large generating source of money after the tax. Therefore, the Egyptian government should invest the time and effort to preserve such buildings than build the new one.

To sum up, the cities beauty is usually enhanced by its historical monuments, it shows how the importance of the cities in the past. However the modernization is essential for the growth of the city, that doesn’t mean that old buildings should be demolished.