Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

What the university students should study is a controversial issue in the contemporary life. Some people believe that students should be allowed to choose the subjects they are interested in while the others think that studying topics in science and technology are valuable for the future. Both points of view will be analyzed in this argument before the reasoned conclusion is found.

To begin, the university is the place which builds adept generations and country leaders. From this point, the university policy will affect the whole nation. The expert opinion when the students are given the freedom to pick up the majors at the university level, this would make the education more effective. The student will read more on this topic and take a lot of courses to be a leader in this field rather than being a worker for the office. For example, Basant Nour El-dein, a famous tour guide who always had a passion to study Tourism and Hotels. This passion motivates her to be creative in displaying the information about the ancient Egyptian monuments and make it into an interesting story for the public.

On the contrary, as we live in the globalization era, the whole world focus on the science and technology. The universities focus on teaching science related subjects and obligate students to study to yield a workforce for the country. Although, apparently such policy is so efficient for the future of the society, actually it creates imbalance and increasing numbers of leaders in fields than others. Moreover, if the students forced to study uninteresting subjects, the number of dropout students dramatically will be increased.

To recapitulate, However, there is a debate on whether the students should study at the university level, I agree with giving the freedom for them to choose the subjects have more benefits for the society.