Should governments spend money on people who are already ill or on preventive diseases?

It is true that governments around the world have been working hard determining the best budget allocation mix between preventing future and treating current illness. Although ill people need medical treatments, governments should give the priority to preventive avenue for curable ones.

The first reason is that it is a more effective way to spend money on healthcare. First, by focusing on promoting healthier lifestyle, some potentially fatal diseases would be prevented. For example, due to lack in preventive approach, millions of African people have been threatened by a whole host of epidemics. Second, spending money on preventive approach ensures that current and future citizens can live longer and happier than did previous generations. If more parks and free health facilities are built,people will have enough spaces and tools to do physical exercise.

It is also more efficient to invest in enhancing people's lifestyle. By playing sports regularly, the society will appreciate the importance of health, which therefore puts less pressure on medical care. For instance, after people become more aware of their health, national hospitals and private clinics are much less crowded. In addition, the government's finance would be safe as there are fewer cases requiring medical treatments. Thanks to this, the government can take steps to reinforce hospitals and other public services, bettering life standard of the whole country.

In conclusion, it is more effective and efficient in the long term to focus on preventive approach. This benefits not only governments but also the citizens' health.