Should museums and art galleries be free of charge for the general public, or should a charge, even a voluntary charge, be levied for admittance?

Discuss this issue, and give your opinion.

Expert throughout the developing and developed world have debated whether visiting fees to museums and art galleries are imperative or not. Alongside the arguments from both sides, the latest discoveries have casted light on this question based on their running cost and visiting figures. This essay will assert that users of these buildings should be charged using the examples in Hong kong to demonstrate points.

To begin with, the operation cost is intuitively perceived as a plausible explanation of imposing a charge for visiting museums and art galleries. The central reason behind this is twofold, firstly the cost of acquisitions is exorbitant at large. Secondly, the pays that sustain these artistic facilities are significant. In fact, the annual report from the Hong Kong Museum Management Office established that the income from admission fee has been effectively underpinned the operation of its properties over the past decades. Consistent with this line of thinking is that museums and art galleries would have faced bankruptcy if no charge had been imposed on their entries. Therefore, it is conclusively clear that admission ticket has an important role to play on sustaining an artistic site.

Although there is a number of reasons supporting the existence of visiting fees, some suggest museums and art galleries should be free of charge. This is largely because the extravagant tickets preclude the grassroots from inspiring by these great works, which in turn hinder the free flow of information. For instance, the annual report also ascertained that the majority of its visitors were in fact highly paid as professions such as doctors, designers and architects. Admittedly, frequenting to museums or art galleries necessitates a large amount of money; however, it is not a necessity of living in a city. Seen in this light, the offer of fee of concession suffice to meet with the need of certain classes.

In conclusion, admission fee has a vital significance on sustaining the development of museums and art galleries, despite deterring some people from gaining access frequently. Given the constant inflation, it is predicted that the operation cost entailing maintenance and security will surge in the foreseeable future. Therefore, it is possible to state beyond doubt that users of museums and art galleries should be charged.