Should parents be obliged to immunise their children against childhood diseases?

Or do individuals have the right to choose not to immunise their children?

You should write at least 250 words.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

The question of whether parents should be forced to immunize their children or not is very topical today, as so many people are worried about the safety of such practice.There are valid arguments on both sides, which I will discuss now.

On the one hand, supporters of immunisation point to the effectiveness in reducing the incidence of fatal childhood diseases of preventative medicine.In previous centuries, many children died from common illnesses, ranging from ordinary diseases such as influenza or tuberculosis to serious ones like polio or smallpox and because few people had immunity, these epidemics spread easily.As a result of widespread practice of vaccinating young children in our society, many lives have been saved and the premature mortality rate has, thankfully, been significantly reduced.

Conversely, however, opponents of immunisation say that in the present disease-free society, children who are not immunised are far less at risk as common diseases such as dysentery have long been eradicated and that immunisation programmes are therefore a waste of financial resources.Finally, there is the issue of the rights of the individual. As members of a society, why should we be obliged to subject our children to this potentially harmful practice? Some people may also be against immunisation on religious grounds and their needs must also be considered.

Overall, I feel that immunisation, with its importance in protecting the young ones, is set to remain an integral part of our lives.Of course,this is provided that the individual have the right to choose whether or not to participate.