It is generally agreed that fewer people today write letters (through the mail or post) compared with the twentieth century. What factors have led to this situation? What will the impact be on the lives of future generations?

There can be little doubt that more and more people are neglecting conventional information exchanging methods, be it through mail or post.There are three main causes and two key impacts, which I will outline now.

The main cause is probably the almost universal use of digital technology to make everyone contactable.While meticulous handwriting is becoming extremely slow and out-dated, people can send out messages at the push of a button without enduring hours or even days looking forward to a proper reply.Moreover, when the popularization of transportation methods and the involvement of tourism industry emerge, people are now travelling all over the world.In these cases, the notion of checking online mailboxes is wiser and less time-consuming. One further factor is because of the deterioration in paper and ink quality, we all have some valuable memories to keep and the degradation of hand-written letter can be extremely troublesome.With the presence of technology, this is solved by storing electronic letters in an online container as it does not require a physical instruments that tend to be lower in quality gradually over time.

Regarding the effects to be felt by future generations,one positive impact is that the use of paper will fall, which will likely result in betterment of environmental protection as paper is principally made from wood.A possible negative effect is that exchanging worlds by means of technology does not appear to constitute the central message which is hoped to be delivered by the correspondents and convey the cultural norms that helps to maintain the fabric of society.

To sum up, the causes of this trend are primarily to do with the development of telecommunications and transportation,and the effects are felt in terms of habitats and connections.