Small businesses are disappearing and being replaced by large multinational companies Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

This is a fact that in today’s contemporary era most of the small businesses are being merged into large companies. According to my point of view, this trend has considerable draw sides that are more than its benefits.

On the one hand, As I mentioned above the replacement of small businesses into big companies has several demerits so now I am going to discuss those drawbacks. As per my perception, this phenomenon brings two main disadvantages. Firstly, merging micro-enterprises into macro businesses leads to unemployment as some people earn their bread and butter by running businesses such as sole entrepreneurship, partnership etcetera; however, if large enterprises would use small businesses for their benefit and takeover small firms then sole traders would lose their jobs. Moreover, they may not only become jobless but also discourage people to come into the business line. Secondly, another demerit is that people would forget the things which have provided by their ancestors in inheritance. For an instance, in India people used to run many tiny businesses by hand to earn money such as “Khadi” in which people wove the fibre by hands with the help of hands and sold to people. Whereas, now this replaced by machines and today’s generation love to wear clothes that are made of silk instead of “Khaddar”.

On the other hand, along with drawbacks this trend has done merits for the people. First of all, despite of providing jobs to the people, investors of small businesses face some problems as they could not complete with large businesses due to lack of resources. Therefore, this is better to sell businesses to macro companies and get money to open any other enterprise which might provide more benefits than old one. In addition to this, in this fast paced world no one prefers hand made things and everyone love to buy goods made by famous brands. Most importantly, nowadays people focus more on standard of living so they tends to buy products with high quality, comfortability as well as which raises their status in society.

To conclude, although takeovers of small enterprises by big organizations prove beneficial in some situations yet I believe that it’s disadvantages outweigh its advantages.