Smoking is a major cause of serious illness and death throughout the world today. In the
interest of the public heath, governments should ban cigarettes and other tobacco products.
Do you agree or disagree?
There are widely differing views on the issue of whether tobacco should be banned or
not. Some people would suggest that it is their right to smoke and that prohibiting
cigarettes would be a violation of their civil liberties; however, I personally believe that
tobacco should indeed be made illegal. There are two principal reasons for this.
One point which I believe to be absolutely pivotal is the fact that tobacco is a drug. The
majority of governments around the world take a prohibitionist approach to the problem
of substance abuse. If the governments wish to be consistent in pursuing their “war on
drug” , therefore, I believe they must ban tobacco as well. This is particularly so given the
fact that many currently illicit drugs – including heroin and marijuana - have legitimate
medical applications, while tobacco has none.
However, perhaps the strongest argument in favour of banning cigarettes and other
tobacco products is that of public health. It is irrefutable fact that smoking leads to lung
cancer and other such potentially fatal diseases. Pro-smoking groups would no doubt
argue that each individual has the right to determine what goes into his/her own body.
Nevertheless, I would suggest that the interests and rights of society at large must
override those of the individual. The medical treatment that smokers require is often
incredibly costly, and it is frequently governments and society that cover these costs
rather than the individual smoker. Hence, I feel laws prohibiting smoking would be
entirely justified.
In reality, of course, the widespread prohibition of smoking is unlikely in the near future.
However, given the seriousness of the problems that it causes, I believe that this should
be the ultimate goal.