smoking not only harm the smoker, but also those who are nearby. therefore smoking should be banned in public places. to what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is stated that, smoking is unhealthy for all whether it is active or passive smoking. Hence smoking should be banned in public places and in places where it is necessary to do so. However I strongly agree with the fact that smoking should be made illegal in public places as it contributes to many health issues.

The argument which put forward in favour of legalised smoking in public areas is based on the idea that, it is a matter of freedom for individuals. In addition, those who stand against banning states that many bars and pubs may close down if there is no freedom to smoke inside, which may affect the business adversely and thus the economy as a whole.

However it has been scientifically proved that, smoking whether it is active or passive has detrimental effect on health. For example, use off tobacco leads to different type of cancers such as lung, mouth, and throat cancer. Thus it is the responsibility of the government to make law in order to maintain the health of its citizens. More over human health is more important than business and economy. In other words, a country with unhealthy population can contribute nothing to its economy and prosperous. Hence a total ban on smoking in public places such as hospitals, bus stops, and churches where vulnerable people have frequent access is necessary.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the opinion that, smoking should be made illegal in public areas and it would be better to allot a place specifically for smoking in those places.