Social networking sites such as Facebook and Twitter are observed to have more negative effects than positive being more useful for the criminals than others. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Social media has been one of the most amazing inventions of this century.Some people think that it has more disadvantages than advantages. Especially, as it is more useful to criminals.I partially agree with this statement.

Social media has been a boon in many ways. Networking sites like Facebook,Twitter etc. have transformed the way we interact. Also, share and communicate. for example ,I connected with my childhood friends who are all over the world. That too after 30 yrs and we had a school reunion. We are also connected with our family and are able to keep in touch with them constantly. And also be a part of family functions like weddings etc. Social media has helped in alleviating communication gap. Especially, between people in remote areas . They have provided a rapid and effective way of interaction between them. It has also helped in fighting injustice and taking up social causes.

However, networking sites have their drawbacks also.People have become disjointed and self centered . Because they are spending more time in front of their laptops,mobiles etc. Hence as a result are lacking in social skills. Since we are sharing a lot of our personal information,photographs etc. Also, there is a risk of it being misused by criminals.There are people who are trolling others. Which at times can have detrimental effects.There are people with fake accounts enticing young girls and boys. It leads to causing fraud relationships and mental trauma.

I would like to conclude by saying that social media has positively revolutionized the way we communicate. Especially, in the past few decades.However, while using it we need to be privacy and security conscious.