The society would benefit from a ban on all forms of advertising because it serves no useful purpose, and can even be damaging. Do you agree or disagree?

Advertising, which has been devised to sort out a problem of mass production today, is a subject of many debates concerning the robust evaluation of its impacts on consumers. Although it has been thought that it should be prohibited in all forms due to the downsides ascribed to, I’m of opinion that its merits override its demerits in serving both consumer and society, and this trend needs to undergo a change. I will assert my conviction regarding the matter shortly.

To begin with. Prohibiting all types of advertisements wouldn’t be to the benefits of consumers. Consumers reap the manifold benefits of advertisement simply because it not only educates people on giving information about various products available on the market but also raises the standard of living of people by drawing their attention to different variety and better quality products. This provides consumers with a clue as to how well to spend their money on high quality goods under different brand names. If it wasn’t for advertisement, we would remain ignorant about recent technological advances. So although advertisements may influence our decision to buy the things we don’t really need or to steer our better judgment away from the truth, their help for the betterment of our life surpass their presumed drawbacks.

Secondly, to add more to its credit, advertising is advantageous to society by reducing the cost of many services and creating more employment opportunities. By increasing the demand for goods, it increases the number of buyers and the number of workers needed to produce the goods therefore it reduces the cost and provides employment respectively. This results in booming the economy and flourishing the society in long run.

Overall. Although advertising is intrusive while we are surfing on the internet or watching a movie on television, it shouldn’t be eliminated from society as it paves the way to the economic development of society as whole and individuals in particular.