Some countries are struggling with an increase in the rate of crime. Many people think that having more police on the streets is the only way to reduce crime. To what extent do you agree?

Today, crime and crime preventive measure create a dilemma for officials in choosing the right strategy to crack down this predicament. Many governments came to an agreement that adding more officers to an already large police force is an effective deterrent against criminal activity. I totally disagree with the idea that an increase in number of officers has something to do with a reduction in criminal behavior.

To set out, there is a common misconception that an additional police number is consistent with less crime rate. However, the evidence and statistical findings proved otherwise. Moreover, it has been believed if police remains vigilant and report anything suspicious, it will give offenders a slight chance of committing any offence. Therefore, as far as they know their action are being watched or they are aware of police presence, nothing will go wrong. However, there has been a consistency between a rise in the number of crime and a rise in the number of police being hired. This means the raise in property crime or any form of acquisitive offending has brought with it a corresponding growth in number of the police.

Added to that, experiments show extra policing not only is inefficient against crime but also increase its frequency even more. Although, the results regarding the decline in illegal activities were inconclusive, governments still keep hiring more and more officers. Accordingly, more fund diverts to correctional facilities which makes the society lose its effective investment. The money would be well spent if it is designated to other areas such as education and employment. Not to mention that this state budget should be set aside for alleviating the underlying cause of the problem including unemployment, substance abuse, family dysfunction and mental issues. Finally, measures that affect economic welfare of people provide more potential leverage over crime than measures that try to suppress its occurrence.

To conclude, although police presence is very effective in many ways, extra police may not be a proper decision toward criminal behavior. That is to say proactive approach has always been a much more effective than any form of reactive strategy.