Society would benefit from a complete ban on all forms of advertisement. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Concerns about the prevalence of advertisements and their effects have reached a fever pitch nowadays. While there exists an initiative that the government should impose a strict prohibition on all channels of adverts, I strongly refute such an act since advertising does offer indispensable benefits to modern society.

It appears completely unreasonable to ban all genres of advertisements. Advocates of banning adverts may argue that advertisers employ manipulative techniques to provoke customers’ desires to purchase products that they do not actually need, making people waste their money ceaselessly. Besides, even more serious consequences would hit the consumers in cases when they buy poor-quality and fake products whose functions are overstated in adverts. However, such reasoning is an invalid exaggeration since purchasers nowadays have become more alert to advertising than ever before due to their constant exposure on a daily basis. As a result, consumers tend to ponder and research more heedfully before coming to a buying decision. In short, the proposal of placing a ban on all types of advertising based on assumed yet faulty negatives of adverts is irrational.

On the contrary, I am strongly convinced that advertisements are extremely beneficial to society in several ways. The most obvious advantage is that many customers could gain insights of new products or services thanks to daily exposure to a wide range of advertisements. For example, visual adverts can provide parents with updated information about different milk products, helping them to have better purchase choices for their children. Another noticeable benefit is that advertising could maximize consumer’s gains by creating fiercer competition between companies. Specifically, the availability of advertising, followed by consumers’ better opportunities to compare products, would compel companies to constantly refine their products and offer goods with higher quality yet more reasonable prices, which in turn could financially benefit buyers.

In conclusion, I am of the belief that the advertisement brings people enormous advantages and thus the suggestion of imposing a total prohibition on all forms of advertising should be neglected.