Some believe that people will purchase a product based on their needs and advertising is not needed.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The influence of advertising on consumers’ spendings is described as insignificant by some. According to their opinion, it is necessity that motivates purchases. This assessment is true, to a certain extent.

Advertisement is considered to serve no real purpose in the buying of certain products. Among them are necessity goods, which are used in everyday activities. Products such as sugar, salt and oil are bought on a regular basis, albeit receiving little promotional support in all forms of media. This ad-free relationship between buyers and suppliers is also seen in small-scale businesses. Once buyers are satisfied with their purchases, they may continue buying without any input from commercials and other media.

However, it is myopic to completely disregard the key role of ads in forming and sustaining buyers’ interest. Advertisement, especially with celebrity endorsement, facilitates the market penetration of a product or a service while giving consumers a sense of quality guarantee. Major sports brands like Nike and Adidas, for instance, tend to sign lucrative sponsorship deals with famous models and athletes, evidencing the relevance and quality of their products. Moreover, as targeted at consumer psychology, ads are capable of generating new shopping needs and sustaining them. The best example for this is probably the marketing strategy implemented by smart phone manufacturers, as their stylish ads constantly reinforce the need of using the brand’s latest consumer electronics and perpetuate the sense of belonging to the user community.

Stemming from the aforementioned arguments, I agree that despite being less important in the purchase of regular commodity, advertisements on various platforms are potent enough to stimulate a new shopping desire and making it habitual.