Some children receive almost no encouragement from their parents regarding their performance at school, while other children receive too much pressure from their over enthusiastic parents which can have a negative impact on the child.

Why do you think some parents put too much pressure on their children to perform well at school?

What do you think the role of a parent should be in their child’s education?

One of the most controversial issue today relates to parenting and child education where children lacks support from their parents at school and the others receives too much pressure from over enthusiastic parents. In fact, these issues can have a negative impact on the child. In this essay, I am going to examine both questions from my points of view.

Firstly, it is an indisputable fact that the love of a parent can sometimes be overwhelming to children and they tend to misunderstood the pressure they get in their studies. Parents always wanted the best for their children. They send them to good schools to gain appropriate knowledge acquisition because they believe that success requires hard work and high credentials which is achievable if a child performed well on education. Aside from the fact that they are concerned about the achievements, parents are affected by social pressure. The competition that rises into the family circle were outgrown by the parents and is passed onto their off springs. One good illustration of this is during family gatherings where people brags about their achievements and successful life.

Secondly, I believe that basic learnings start in the family. The vital role of a parent in nurturing knowledge to a child during the first stage is morality and discipline. It is a significant learning that cannot be taught personally by anyone. In addition, guiding and helping the children with their home works is one of the fundamentals of parenting. The main reason for this is because aside from the support, parents can build up the bond and trust from their off springs. A particularly good opportunity to gain this is during primary schools.

As we have seen, there are no easy answers to these questions. In conclusion, in order for a child to keep up the enthusiasm and motivation in school. A parent should provide the outmost support and encouragement without involving any pressure.