In some cities, people are choosing cars instead of bicycles, while in other cities riding bikes are replacing cars. Why is this the case? Which development do you think is better?

In contemporary society, there is an increasing number of people who prefer driving cars to cycling while other commuters opt for riding bikes. In my opinion, while this problem has several impacts on the environment, the reasons for this vary, and those of people traveling by bike appear to be more convinced.

Regarding the factors contributing to decisions to use cars, firstly, travelers tend to choose vehicles that satisfy their demands, consisting of going to work or tourism. To be more specific, in this era where the population is significantly growing, the need to get along with 5-6 people becomes popular. Therefore, automobiles can be used to carry large groups of people to work or to the place of travel, which bicycles cannot. Secondly, according to recent research by the Ministry of Transportation, commuters have stated that they drive instead of cycling due to the air conditioning that all the cars have, helping them to have a more relaxed atmosphere.

However, I hold a firm belief that riding bicycles brings more advantages to both commuters and the environment. First and foremost, cycling every day has been confirmed to be a healthy habit by scientists and should be included in one's daily routine. In particular, while there are a large number of workers who have to sit all day in their office, riding bikes encourages commuters to build up muscles and boost stamina, which also contributes to weight loss and work-life balance. Secondly, regardless of cars' ability to carry many people, bicycles should be considered one of the most efficacious ways of moving since they are smoke-free vehicles and do not cause traffic congestion. As a result, this way of traveling should be widely spread and be supported by more citizens so as to incentivize the environment to be improved.

In conclusion, while the contributions to the use of automobiles seemed to be understandable, I whole-heartedly support the idea of using bikes since it has positive effects on people's health and the environment.