Some companies and organizations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

There has been an increasing trend of having an employee uniform in the organization from the last few decades. This essay will highlight both the benefits and drawbacks that result from this trend.

A significant advantage of uniform is the solidarity that eradicates all possible sort of discrimination from the workplace that may include race, religion, affluent, and inferior status of the employees. It represents the employee to an outer world as one team that not only promotes the brand value but also influence the customer decision related to the company product. For instance, Cafe Coffe Day retail chain outlets have imposed livery on the employees to help and serve the clients in a better way. In contrast, if there is no uniform implemented across the organization, then the client might end up to search for the firm employee and in an outcome of it, moved away from the outlet.

Nevertheless, implementing identical attire across the firm does present some drawbacks. Firstly, it restricts the freedom of an individual to wear the preferred dresses. As a result, it may dampen the working enthusiasm of an employee towards the company's growth. Secondly, some employees may not be comfortable in a specific design of livery as it does not appeal to them. For example, some people may prefer to wear an ethenic dress over western.

In conclusion, although there are benefits of the employee uniform that present unity across the organization and helps in building the positive image of the company, it is important to consider that they do interfere with one's freedom to opt for preferred dresses and size.