Some companies and organizations require their employees to wear uniform. What are the advantages and disadvantages of wearing uniform?

People are habituated with different uniform. Setting a dress code in the workplace is becoming increasingly common. Unique uniform of any company has various advantages and disadvantages. Both the merits and demerits are analysed in ensuing paragraph.

Discussing the brighter side of same dress code, the foremost one is that it establishes an atmosphere of discipline and uniformity. It makes effect on mentality of worker toward quality work. It ensures that inappropriate or dirty clothing is not worn to work. Furthermore, it helps to reduce displaying economical inequality. What I mean, it shows that all are equal during work period and everyone do not have chance to show their wealth power. It helps every employee to remove their hesitation to do work with person of an affluent family. Moreover, if employees are having same standard of dress code, there will be create less confusion about what to ware or what is not appropriate for workplace. Additionally, a dress code is also important in non-office environments, such as in factories for keeping employees safe. Let’s take example of companies like TATA Chemicals, SAMSUNG, LG. In these companies’ worker have to do more field work. At that place safety uniform is essential to get safety of their skin and more important is their life. They might get affected from toxic liquid or gas without safety dress.

Along with positive side, we shall not neglect negative side. There are also few disadvantages of uniform. Firstly, employer provide only two pair of uniform to worker. If both need proper wash at a time, it would put employee into confusion of what to wear. Secondly, few employees might get feeling of boredom from traditional dress code.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, a dress code is very essential nowadays in the workplace. Advantages like safety, removal of economical status are outweigh disadvantages. Thus, demerits of uniform are negligible. Thus, every manufacturing units should put compulsion on uniform.