Some companies have uniforms for their staff which must be worn at all time What are the advantages for a company of having a uniform Are there any benefit of having uniform for a staff

Some corporations create a standard dress code for their employees to be worn at the workplace. The main benefits of uniforms are a positive attitude towards work and equality between workers, but the main drawbacks are time-consumption and discomfort involved.

Wearing a uniform affects positively on the behavior of employees. This is to say that when putting it on, it creates a greater affinity with work by giving individuals a feeling that they are at work and they all have a shared responsibility to strive for one goal. Another positive of having a standard is that it offers a sense of equality and commonality among co-workers. Sticking to the same dress at work eliminates the division among staff members based on what they wear and builds cohesion by instilling the sense that we all are the same. For example, the unity of Sri Lankan health care workers, including doctors, nurses, and technicians, increased remarkably after wearing the same uniform during the Covid-19 pandemic.

However, it takes longer to change uniforms. In other words, because many companies do not allow their employees to wear standard clothing outside the premises, people have to put them on and off at the workplace, which consumes the time they work. Another negative of adopting a uniform is that it is not comfortable to be in that dress all day. Put simply, uniforms are designed without considering the nature of work involved and the number of working hours causing inconvenience to the workers. For instance, the uniform of air-hostess of the Sri Lankan airlines is the traditional “osariya”, which is a tight attire, and that is why the company has recently decided to change it.

In conclusion, setting up a uniform at the workplace persuades employees to work and creates strong bonds among staff members. However, it takes a lot of time and uncomfortable to work if it has not been designed prudently.