Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, the senior citizens are permitted to work indefinitely as long as they wish, which is still controversial among a majority of people. From my perspective, I suppose that the disadvantages are predominant.

It is plausible why old people should retire at a particular age. The first conspicuous reason is that their well-being is hardly favourable to the workplace any longer. It is evident that the elderly are more likely to contract a disease due to immune deficiency or health deterioration, which diminishes their proficiency at work. The second rationale is that further escalation in unemployment rate could be attributable to old people who are still working after their age of retirement. With a substantial number of veteran superiors at the office, subordinates seem to stand fewer chances of fulfilling their potential or getting promotion, and there are not even enough places for youngsters who desire to find an occupation.

On the other hand, granting the elderly permission to work to any age that they want does have some advantages. Provided that their general health is favourable, old people can earn a living by themselves without depending on governmental allocation or their children. This not only facilitates their financial independence but also provides them with an enjoyable working life, which assists the senior both mentally and physically. For instance, some of the retired do not have an excuse to go out anymore, and begin to lead a sedentary lifestyle, or just idle away the time. In this case, old people might aspire to come back to their work.

In conclusion, advantageous to some extent as it may seem, allowing the elderly to work longer still causes certain drawbacks. Moreover, after a considerable period of their profound contribution, the old generation should relax, enjoy life and spend time with their family.