Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

The older laborers are permitted to work indefinitely as long as they want in some people. From my perspective, this development is more disadvantageous overall considering increased unemployment rates.

On the one hand, several benefits are arising from this trend to individuals. The first one is that elderly, regardless of age, desire to devote themselves to the growth of their nation. The majority of Japanese older adults, for instance, keep working to have a contribution to society, which should be considered patriotism for youngsters to look up to. Moreover, working can provide the old laborers with happiness and consciousness for the rest of their lives. A teacher named Le Thi Hoa, 64 years old, has been teaching for over 35 years, which allows her to be stack with passion and enjoyment whenever joining the class. Therefore, working is an excellent tool to enable older people to avoid being pessimistic.

However, I believe the drawback this trend induces outnumbers the aforementioned benefits. The primary disadvantage is the development of the unemployment rate. As elderly workers are rich in profession and experience, they are more likely to meet the company’s requirements effortlessly than those younger. This can lead to an unnecessary redundancy of young workers and graduates available on the employment market. Therefore, the number of unemployed workers would be increased dramatically, leading to its negative impacts on the nation’s long-term development.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that the drawback this development poses outweighs the advantages mentioned above.