Some countries allow old people to work to any age that they want Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages

Allowing the elderly to work as long as they desire has been on the rise in some nations. While several people think this is beneficial, I believe the unemployment rate this trend induces outweighs its advantages.

On the one hand, there are a couple of benefits when older people have the right to decide their retirement. The first one is happiness. This means that many old adults these days enter the work to fulfill their passion, leading to positive consequences on their mental abilities that can improve their lifestyles. Moreover, devoting to work enables people, regardless of age, to express patriotism for their nation. An increasing number of Japanese elderly, for instance, apply for charity organizations to contribute themselves to society by giving hands to those who face difficulty and guiding them to positive attitudes that promote the country overall.

On the other hand, I believe the aforementioned advantages pale in comparison with the drawback of this trend. The primary one is that it can lead to increased unemployment rates. As younger workers have to compete with the elderly who are loaded with years of experience, they are less likely to become the ultimate candidates that meet the work’s requirements. Being unemployed for a long duration can lessen graduates’ motivation and enthusiasm for pursuing their favorite jobs, resulting in many people burdening on their families and country.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that allowing the elderly to work until they want is more disadvantageous overall considering its risks to youngsters and society at large.