Some people think that hosting international sports events is good for the country while some people think it is bad Discuss both views and static your opinion

International sporting events have been traditionally deemed beneficial to the host country. However, some others are opposed to the idea, claiming that it does more harm than good. Whilst the former view can be justified for some reasons, I am more inclined towards the latter.

I can understand why it might be beneficial for any nation to host an international sporting event. For countries wishing to promote their profiles, the Olympics and other similar sport-related events can be an ideal choice. A lot more people know about a once-lesser-known South Africa after World Cup 2010, and China has gained increasing global reputation for its successful Olympic Beijing 2008. In addition, preparation for such international events may create jobs for locals, temporarily revitalizing depressed areas.

However, those aforementioned benefits are short-lived, and hosting such a big event is more likely to bring about long-term negative consequences to the environment and the economic wellbeing of the host country. Every aspect of construction, from producing bricks to delivery, has measurable impacts on the environment, let alone the establishment of facilities catering for the needs of a big sporting event like the Olympics, which often brings in its wake the obliteration of hundred acres of woodland. In addition, those amenities are often disused and abandoned after a short period of time, and the costs for maintenance can become a huge economic burden.

In conclusion, my firm conviction is that while hosting an international sporting event can be advantageous to a certain extent, it has profound negative effects on the environmental and economic aspects of a country. There are always better alternatives that benefit a country than organising a very big event without anticipating its long-term impacts.