Some people think that hosting international sports events is good for the country, while some people think it is bad. Discuss both views and static your opinion.

Many people believe that it would be beneficial for a country to host international sporting events, while some would think otherwise. This essay will shed light on both viewpoints as well as provide the writer's insights.

Advocates of the premise would argue that such events can do wonders for the tourism industry of the host country. Globetrotters would be inclined to choose the host country as their destination if there are fascinated by the competitiveness and fierceness from all the top-flight athletes. As a result, the country's image would get a significant boost, which is all the more important during this hard time of mankind. To follow that logic, Japan's reputation would be greatly benefited if her people could come through with their Olympic 2021's endeavors against the backdrop of this persistent pandemic.

That said, I side with the naysayers by arguing that the hosting decisions must be dictated by the seriousness and global influence of such events. A prime example for this argument is Sea Games-the multi-sport event for all countries in the South East Asia region. Its prestige is mediocre at best, thus the minimal effects on tourism and image's promotion. Consequently, events like these are nothing but a fiscal pitfall for the host country and an opportunity for corrupt politicians to enrich themselves and their cronies. This venality could be seen in Vietnam - the host of Sea Games 23 in 2005, the year when a plethora of general contractors were greenlighted with ease to build sports facilities for the aforementioned event. However, their building projects have been left derelict post - event, making this misure of taxpayers' money more flagrant as time progresses.

In conclusion, much deliberation should be taken when it comes to hosting international sporting events.