In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

It is certainly true that nowadays in some countries more and more people have become overweight and it is affecting their health and fitness levels. There are various reasons for these particular problems and measures should be taken to improve people health conditions.

The main reasons for these alarming problems often lie in the changes in modern lifestyles. Firstly, the appearance of various fast food chains contributes greatly to the overweight problem in most developed countries. Pizza, fried chicken and instant foods have become favourites among the young adults because of its addicting flavour. However, they mostly contain too much oil, sugar and unresolved fat which are extremely harmful to people's health. Secondly, the advances in technology have also made big impacts on people lifestyles and their levels of health and fitness. For example, a lot of people have now taken up watching TV or surfing the Internet as their hobbies instead of playing sports or doing outdoor activities.

To reduce the number of overweight people and promote healthy lives, there are several things that we can do. People should be more selective in choosing their diets. We should avoid consuming fast foods which contain high cholesterol ingredients. Instead, green foods such as vegetables or whole grain are proved to be healthy. We should spend a daily budget of time for exercising or playing sports and engaging in social activities. To defeat the bad effects of modern lifestyle, people can also think about changing the way they commute, such as riding bicycles instead of driving cars.

In conclusion, the number of overweight people in western countries has increased and their health and fitness levels are declining. However, we can easily solve these problems by changing our bad habits which are negatively affected by modern lifestyle.