In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

The most worriesome drawback is excessive weight gain in certain countries, while the main contributory factors are poor eating habits and sedentary lifestyle. Weight gain affect the overall health of a person. This essay will discuss the impact of weight gain and steps to resolve it.

People of high income status tend to consume lots of fast foods because the afford it. Foods such as fresh chips, hamburgers and coffee should not be consumed in excess as they have negative effects on the heart, as well as increase weight. Health education should be done routinely at work places or gatherings to rise awareness on dangers of too much consumption of fast foods.

Furthermore, sedentary lifestyle also predispose to weight gain. Ingested carbohydrates will be converted into energy . If the energy is not used, for example , during a workout or walking, then it is turned into sugars or glucose for storage. These sugars can cause weight gain which manifest later as diabetes mellitus. For instance, a person with body mass index of above 25 is at high risk of developing heart disease, therefore people are encouraged to do routine exercise like walking or jogging at least three times a week.

In addition, there are some psychotic disorders such as bulimia nervosa. This condition is manifested with binge eating and the patient will be overweight. The person eat anything that comes his or her way. The condition will have to be treated first to control increased appetite, thereby controlling weight. If the condition does not get urgent treatment, the patient may suffer from arthritis because weight will be too mich for the joint to bear.

To sumup, health living is a way to life. Banting has become so popular way of maintaining body weight and living health, therefore people need to be educated continuously at workplace, gatherings and at clinics or even at family levels. A person should eat a balanced diet which consist of proteins, fats, carbohydrates, minerals, roughage and vitamins to live a health lifestyle. Adverts should be put in radios and television about importance of maintaing good weight.