In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing.

What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

Nowadays, it can be seen that an increasing population has been suffering from obesity and their health conditions are getting worse due to unhealthy eating habits and sedentary lifestyle. To my mind, both the government and individuals need to pay attention to and take actions to solve the problem.

To begin with, people are gaining weight because they have been eating too much fast food with insufficient exercise. From an eating perspective, there have been various fast-food restaurants all over the world in which the food prices are cheaper, the products are mouthwatering, and the waiting time is shorter. All of those advantages of fast food attract customers to eat deep-fried and oily food more often. From an exercising perspective, people, especially the younger generation, can spend hours in front of a screen for working, studying or even playing games without standing up. Having more high-calorie food but moving less to burn the energy are the main reasons why people are getting fatter and fatter.

As an optimist, I believe people can become thinner and healthier with the guide from the government and with self-effort. The government may enact new laws that fast companies need to pay extra tax for the products and force them to increase the price. At the same time, the government budget needs to be allocated to a subsidy for healthy food so that the price would be lower. More costumers would like to have a healthier diet when they pay less for healthy food and more for junk food. Apart from the measures taken by the government, people need to learn about the dangers of obesity and the diseases it can cause, such as heart attack, high blood pleasure and diabetes. Individuals also need to do more exercise or just simply stretch their legs after sitting in front of laptops every hour.

In conclusion, the government and people need to be alert about the trend of high average weight and take measures to stop or reverse it for healthy intentions. I think people can keep fit by eating healthier and do more exercise.