In some countries, the criminal trials are shown on the TV and the general public can watch them. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In some nations, it is a heated topic about criminal trials when it broadcasts on the television programme. Some people argue that this may trigger some negative consequences. This essay will argue why the pros of such progress overweigh the cons.

On the one hand, the judgement to criminals showed on a television programme is beneficial to the public. To begin with, this sort of TV show provide the truth of crime with informative details. This helps people to have access to knowledge about what they interested such as the law or policy. Secondly, these trials open to the public will reduce the crime rate to a certain extent because people will affair of the consequence they have to face if commit a crime. Furthermore, people may acquire practical knowledge about some particular crime. For instance, the increasing number of elderly scam has become a serious problem, if these people would watch more criminal trials related to the scam, then they might not be cheated and their damage may be avoidable.

On the other hand, the criminal judgement that broadcasts to the public may trigger a few negative consequences. Firstly, a potential criminal may break the law by gaining criminal skills through television because they think they would escape from the chasing. From my counter-argument of this statement, if these people who intend to commit a crime, they would found any information they need in this digital era. Another reason often mentioned is that the privacy of victims will be exposed and considered as a second hurt. However, according to recently advanced technology, the victim's face and voice could be marked or changed when they showed on TV.

In conclusion, although showing criminal judgements on the TV has few minor influences on the public, such TV show played an important role in current society. Personally, I strongly believe the benefits to the public overweigh the negative effect.