In some countries, the government has tried to reduce traffic. For instance, they imposed a congestion tax during rush hour. Do you think this development is positive or negative?

With the rapid development of current society, traffic congestion is an increasing issue among the public. In some nations, the government imposed a congestion tax as a measure to decrease traffic in the rush time. In my opinion, such an approach is a positive development in this modern society.

One the one hand, as an effective measure of modern urban traffic management, congestion pricing plays a significant role in theory and practice. To begin with, congestion pricing will lead people to avoid commuting by private cars in the rush time. Indeed, people could be encouraged to use public transport more or drive cars away from peak time. Secondly, as an additional tax, congestion pricing is increasing the government revenue in some ways which will be beneficial to the public. For example, governments could use these tax revenue to construct and run more efficient and effectiveness of traffic system. Finally, by far charging congestion tax is an effective solution to reduce traffic congestion.

On the other hand, this kind of extra expense will impose a burden on some people. Transport services, for example, such expense will increase the cost of the business running because whatever the tax will be charged or not, they have to drive the /cars all the time. Besides, it is true that this financial burden eventually will be distributed to all of us due to the increasing price. Furthermore, people who cannot avoid travelling out of the rush time will be suffered as well. Overall, it seems to impose congestion pricing eventually will impact people’ life as well as some particular business.

In conclusion, although there are some negative effects due to charging congestion tax, we cannot ignore the merits of this solution which by far certainly help the government to achieve the congestion reduction to some extent. I believe that congestion pricing is a positive development which is entirely justified despite there are some different views.