In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country, while others believe that the government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both sides and express your opinion.

Income inequality is common in every country. In some nations, companies are allowed to pay inordinate salaries for some positions. Pessimists claim that restrictions on the amount of money paid for employees are necessary while optimists, including myself, argue that this issue brings more benefits to a country.

Some people believe that limiting the earnings of highest-paid employees can reduce the dissatisfaction of lower-paid ones, who are the majority of the staff, and create more job opportunities in labor market. According to a study published in 2020, in regions where the income gap between the highest-paid group and the lowest-paid group is less than 10 times, the number of strikes for increase in salaries is 30 percent less than in places where there is no control of this. Moreover, inflated salaries for a minority of employees mean less capital spent on business expansion. Therefore, cutting them can allow companies to invest more in new branches or manufactories, thus creating more jobs.

Meanwhile, other people argue that by letting business owners decide the reasonable amount of money they pay for their employees, countries can expect a rise in the amount of income taxes and avoid brain drain. Because workers can be paid as much as what they deserve, they are more likely to serve their companies harder and more innovatively, raising the possibility to receive rewards for their better performance at the workplace. The more they earn, the more tax they can contribute to their countries. Furthermore, if governments try to restrict the maximum salary employees can receive, the most talented ones might have more reasons to immigrate to other countries, where there is no limit in their earnings. Hence, those countries can encounter the dearth of senior personnel in almost every area, such as banking and mathematics.

In conclusion, some people assert that more satisfaction among members of staff and more jobs can be gained when there is a wage ceiling regulated by the governments, while others are opposed to the regulation because it not only decreases expected amount of income taxes of countries but also makes them lose their most skillful workers.