In some countries, governments are encouraging industries and businesses to move out of the cities and into regional areas. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that many governments have persuaded industries and businesses to relocate to the suburban areas. While this trend may have several drawbacks, I personally believe that its benefits are greater.

Admittedly, moving industries and businesses to regional areas is problematic up to a point. Firstly, not all the workers are willing to leave their family to resettle in rural areas. Besides, local workers are often unqualified and thus, in need of training courses. Consequently, companies are likely to find themselves lacking in skilled workforce in the short term. Secondly, poor infrastructure in remote areas can make the idea of moving industries’ location less attractive.

However, the relocation of factories and companies, without a doubt, may partially help solve many urban problems and improve general living standards. These movements definitely lead to the flow of workers to less dense areas which subsequently lessens the burden on public infrastructure in major cities. As a result, traffic congestion, hospital and school overload are alleviated and people can enjoy a better life.

Another significant advantage is the decrease in production cost. More specifically, factory owners can make use of abundant raw materials in the countryside which often require little or no transportation costs. In addition to that, rental costs in less populous places are considerably lower than that in densely populated cities. Eventually, the cost of production becomes lower, making the final products more competitive.

In conclusion, despite a number of shortcomings, it seems to me that the change in the location of industries and businesses from large cities to rural areas is more beneficial.