In some countries, health care is free, paid for by the state. In other countries, payment is divided between the state and people themselves. Discuss both systems, and say which one is better.

In some regions, health-related services are free of charge, whereas other countries require their citizens to pay for health care themselves. These two systems have both pros and cons, but I believe that the health system with divided payment is better.

Health care free of charge in many countries can have certain benefits. Firstly, it can provide access to free health services in impoverished areas, where people are unable to access health amenities due to financial insufficiency. This can help these poor individuals save their lives when suffering from a disease despite their poverty. Children living in the slums, for instance, can still protect their lives from certain diseases if being given immediate health care without fee. Moreover, when health services are supported financially by the government, access to medical amenities will be spreaded widely over the country. This means that every person is able to use the system regardless of financial status, which can increase the efficiency of public health care services to some extent.

Divided payment for health care is also advantageous to certain aspects. A notable advantage can be seen in terms of sufficient funding for medical purposes. When patients purchase their own treatment for some illnesses, the fees can be contributed to the funding of the general health system, which can put the government under less financial pressure. This fund can also be utilized in finding out new medicine and effective curing methods. Another benefit of this system is for the patients’ preferences. If they pay for their health services, they can select better and suitable treatment options than the standard provided by the state. Thus, their health conditions can improve significantly due to the suitability of treating methods they pay to choose.

Considering two systems, I suppose that the divided payment system is a better option since the government cannot always cover the costly fees to cure specific diseases. If the state has to endure this issue without the payment of citizens, the public health system is likely to face a financial crisis and become insufficient to the increasing demand for health care.

In conclusion, although free health services from the state can help popularize healthcare widely, especially to the poor areas and better the public health to some point, I assume that it can still cause a financial crisis if the government’s fund replenishes due to costly fees to cure a large demand and many diseases. Therefore, the system with separated payment is better by giving sufficient funding for medical purposes and allowing patients to pick the best treatment for their health conditions.