In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food To what extend do you agree or disagree with

Nowadays, many countries are confronted with the problems of obesity and other diet-related diseases due to eating habits of the residents. Some people are in the opinion that rising the tax of food, in particular fast food, is vital for the community. In my opinion, I both agree and disagree with this statement. In the following paragraphs, both of these view points will be discussed in detail before the conclusion is reached.

Increasing the tax of junk food is one of the best practical and reasonable solutions for solving the health problems. By doing this, this kind of food is unaffordable by the citizens and they will buy other food for example vegetable and fruits instead. For example, in some developed countries, their governments rise the tax of some ingredients, especially sugar, to encourage people adding less sugar in their food. Moreover, sugar is one of the main ingredients in myriad of food. Consequently, the rise of sugar tax affect the food price as well.

On the contrary, rising the tax affect not only the wealthy people, but the poverty-stricken have also consequences. Most of the poor people in developed countries do not have too much choice of appetites. For instance, in comparison with the price of food in local restaurants in suburb, hamburger in McDonald are much more cheaper. Despite the problem of being obese, they must continue eating junk food. It would be more struggle in their lives, if the government rose the tax of this food.

To balance, the increase of the fast food tax might be the suitable solution to solve the health issues for some countries, however, the government should also be concerned about the poverty of their resident.