In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are an increasing number of people who are excessively consuming fast foods causing fatal diseases. To solve this issue, the desperate measure should be sought. I believe that there are other alternative measures which can solve this issue more effectively than imposing of higher taxes on junk foods. Therefore, I completely disagree with the imposing of higher taxes on fast foods can reduce the consumption rates.

It is a fact that there are an increasing number of people consuming excessive amount of fast foods and the result would be the fatal health issues. Since fast food is full of chemical substances, it can cause several health diseases that can be fatal to people such as cancer, diabetes, tumor and Alzheimer. Therefore, the optimal and effective solution should be planted to tackle this issue.

Imposing higher taxes on fast food can reduce the excessive consumptions and can maintain people’s health diet. For example, McDonald’s burger price increased from $2.45 to $12.45 after junk food taxation, people will eat somewhere else. This will definitely reduce people’s consumption and people can re-consider of their choice on fast food before purchasing. Hence, higher taxation can solve the fast food consumption effectively.

However, I believe that there are other approaches can solve the excessive number of people eating fast food issues than imposing higher tax on fast food. The reason for this is, taxation can be achieved in a short run and it is not appropriate for the long term goals. In the long run, people will eventually return to their old habit of eating fast food regardless with the prices. As a result, taxation will not be the most effective solution and thus, the government should seek for other measures to solve this issue.

In conclusion, there are growing trend of eating fast food in some countries and this is considered to be an issue due to it relates to the health of people. Higher taxation on fast food seems to be the possible solutions for the government to control people’s eating habit. Since I believe that, other solutions can solve this issue more effectively than imposing taxes; the government should not impose the taxation on fast food.