In some countries, men and women are having children late in life. What are reasons? What are effects?

In the threshold of new era, we human have witnessed significant changes, from the family structures to the increasing trend towards delaying parenthood. In some developed nations, the average age of having a child is around 30 to 35, comparatively higher than that in the past. This essay will point out some of the factors influencing this change and how it affects the society as a whole.

To begin with, there are two main reasons driving the mentioned shift: the hustling bustling working environment and the advancements women’s empowerment. To illustrate, as society develops rapidly, graduators either tend to spend time pursuing different levels of higher education or work in demanding working environment. Consequently, it contributes to the rise of both getting marriage late and late giving birth. Aside from that, in civilization time, gender equality is being promoted, which allows either men or women to obtain the strong financial status before having a child. Like Britain, those living in Tokyo have been busy at work such that it deters them from even dating.

On the other hand, I strongly opine that delaying parenthood comes along with both pros and cons. On the positive side, it is widely believed that children who are nurtured in wealthy family, will probably access to betterment of living standards. On the downside, although middle-age parents have experience in taking care of children, they still find troubles in rising up their offspring due to the lack of energy. According to a research conducted by Havard University in late 2015, 80 percent children suffering from mental disease namely depression are from family with big generation gap. That is to say, this tendency does not only have detrimental impact parents but next generation as well.

In conclusion, I am convinced that in the modern life, it is comparatively difficult for either genders manages having child. Therefore, government should play key role in providing better childcare systems and encourage young couples to have child